FAQ

Frequently asked questions

  • Can I post content to Usenet?

    Yes, posting privileges are enabled by default for paid packages. Free trial accounts are not allowed to post to prevent abuse.

  • How do I renew my ViperNews package?

    Renewing your account is easy. Log in to My ViperNews and click the red "Extend" button.

  • Can I upgrade my ViperNews package?

    Upgrading your account is easy. Once your package has expired log in to My ViperNews and click the red "Extend" button. On the sign up page pick the new package you want.

  • Can I downgrade my ViperNews package?

    Downgrading your account is easy. Once your package has expired log in to My ViperNews and click the red "Extend" button. On the sign up page pick the new package you want.

  • How do I cancel my ViperNews package?

    There is no need to cancel, all packages expire automatically.

  • Is ViperNews a "Tier 1" Usenet provider?

    Yes. When subscribing to ViperNews you get access to the backend of a new "Tier 1" Usenet provider. This backend has been built from scratch mid 2018 and today is a fully independent and redundant Usenet platform.

  • When accessing Usenet I receive a "502" error. What's wrong?

    This error message can be caused by two things:

    1. Your username and password are incorrect. To access our Usenet platform please make sure you use the same username and password as you use to log in to My ViperNews

    2. You are using too many simultaneous connections. Make sure you do not exceed the number of simultaneous connections that come with your package.

  • Do you support IPv6?

    It's 2019, of course we support IPv6.

  • What is "Mbit/s"?

    Mbit/s is a unit of data transfer rate. 10 Mbit/s (megabit per second) roughly equals 1 MB/s (megabyte per second).

  • What are "connections"?

    Connections are the number of simultaneous connections you can open to our Usenet platform. Make sure you do not exceed this number as this will give nasty error messages.

  • What is your retention?

    Our platform currently retains Usenet textmessages that are more than 3500 days (that's almost 10 years!) old. All other messages are retained for approximately 100 days.

  • Can I share my account?

    Yes, you are allowed to share your account with one friend or family member. Please be aware that you are still the account holder and are responsible for everything that happens using your account.